Calum, please get back to me [Archive] - SR20 Forum

: Calum, please get back to me


Pages : [1] 2

M0J0
03-01-2009, 01:19 PM
C, I need a realtime daughterboard asap. The guy where I stored my VE wants it gone soon, and without the DB, I can't install the VE, and I have nowhere else to store it.

I dunno why you're not answering e-mail anymore, perhaps you just haven't read it lately, but since you DO visit this forum (as seen by your last activity being yesterday), I'll post this here, and hope you'll read it.

I don't want to sound disrespectful and all, cause I DO respect you, and your work, and I know you're busy and all, but I haven't even recieved an e-mail, saying that you're too busy, and can't send me the DB. I have the money ready to be sent via PP.

Please get back to me.

Sander.

Calum
03-04-2009, 12:57 AM
Hi Sander,

Sorry, I'm really really behind on building the RT boards. I can ship a board in two weeks, is that fast enough?

M0J0
03-04-2009, 05:17 AM
That will do :) Good to hear from you! Just get me some PayPal data, and I'll transfer the money. The PPfee was 3%, right?

Calum
03-07-2009, 01:32 AM
Don't worry, its rolled into the cost.

M0J0
03-07-2009, 03:59 PM
Sweet! Can't wait to get into it all :). It'll probably be hard to grasp at first, but I'm a fast learner :P Will it come with pre-installed programs? I need them BIN files to program, right? Or are those for the Basic setup?

M0J0
03-08-2009, 05:03 PM
I have another question :P

Is it a smart thing for me to do to get a RTboard, when I have little knowledge of Hex, tuning in general, and the like? Been reading around a lot, and it's getting over my head at the moment. For example, I remember seeing a pic regarding A/F ratios, with a table with a lot of numbers in it, and lots of colours as well. Do I need the knowlegde and tools (for example a wideband o2 sensor (ironically, my car has none :P) about those things with a RTDB?
Cause I was under the impression that it would be a matter of selecting the right MAFs, injectors or whatever :p.

It's not that I can't do ANYTHING, I think I could get into HEX and converting numbers and the like with some help... I'm just wondering what'll pay off better in the long run...

Calum
03-09-2009, 08:33 PM
You do need a wideband, but as long as your using an injector/maf combo I've worked with before you really don't have to learn too much. Fuel map, timing map, thats about it.

M0J0
03-10-2009, 04:56 AM
So a wideband o2 sensor IS necessary (sp)? Any thoughts on a good one? I hear they're quite expensive?

EDIT: Something like these?

Huge link 1 (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/AEM-GAUGE-TYPE-6-IN-1-WIDEBAND-UEGO-CONTROLLER-30-4100_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trkparmsZ72Q3a1171Q7c66Q3a 2Q7c65Q3a12Q7c39Q3a1Q7c240Q3a1318Q7c301Q3a1Q7c293Q 3a1Q7c294Q3a50QQ_trksidZp3286Q2ec0Q2em14QQhashZite m280319878597QQitemZ280319878597QQptZMotorsQ5fCarQ 5fTruckQ5fPartsQ5fAccessories)

Huge link 2 (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/AEM-GAUGE-TYPE-6-IN-1-WIDEBAND-UEGO-CONTROLLER-30-4100_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trkparmsZ72Q3a1171Q7c66Q3a 2Q7c65Q3a12Q7c39Q3a1Q7c240Q3a1308Q7c301Q3a1Q7c293Q 3a1Q7c294Q3a50QQ_trksidZp3286Q2ec0Q2em14QQhashZite m250374042670QQitemZ250374042670QQptZMotorsQ5fCarQ 5fTruckQ5fPartsQ5fAccessories)

Which one would be better?

Calum
03-10-2009, 08:13 PM
Really no matter what your using to tune your car a wideband is mandatory. You really can't see what your doing without one.

bmoses
03-10-2009, 10:55 PM
Really no matter what your using to tune your car a wideband is mandatory. You really can't see what your doing without one.

I'll second this comment and add that an Innovative Motorsports LC-1 works great and costs under $200. This systems consists of just a Bosch wideband O2 sensor and a small black box that interfaces with your laptop via an old school 9 pin serial cable. This is the best $200 I've ever spent (aside, of course, from Calum's RT ECU) ;)

M0J0
03-11-2009, 03:31 AM
I'll second this comment and add that an Innovative Motorsports LC-1 works great and costs under $200. This systems consists of just a Bosch wideband O2 sensor and a small black box that interfaces with your laptop via an old school 9 pin serial cable. This is the best $200 I've ever spent (aside, of course, from Calum's RT ECU) ;)

And then you readout the data, and transfer them to the ECU? Or does it also hook up to the ECU itself?

EDIT: And will just the wideband sensor do, or do you need a controller or something like that? Since I found a Bosch WB O2 sensor on the german ebay for about 50 euros ('bout 65 dollar), but it's just the sensor. What else should I need? Any specific connectors?

M0J0
03-12-2009, 10:36 AM
Anyone?

Calum
03-12-2009, 01:08 PM
And then you readout the data, and transfer them to the ECU? Or does it also hook up to the ECU itself?

EDIT: And will just the wideband sensor do, or do you need a controller or something like that? Since I found a Bosch WB O2 sensor on the german ebay for about 50 euros ('bout 65 dollar), but it's just the sensor. What else should I need? Any specific connectors?

You have to have a controller.

The Innovate is the easiest to integrate.

M0J0
03-12-2009, 02:16 PM
And does it integrate into the ECU or a laptop?

I mean, what do you do with it, apart from checking out if you have a perfect A/F ratio or not :p. I understand that you can get a readout on a laptop, but what do you have to do with that? Transfer data to the ECU? Just datalogging so you can adjust your setup with TunderProRT/CalumSult/Whatever? Or does it send data directly to the ECU, thus getting realtime info and be able to change settings directly?

Last question, do you NEED a gauge? I mean, do you constantly have to monitor the A/F ratio (gauge needed), or will it be just a matter of setting it up once, and never think about it again (well, at least 'till I'm gonna change anything :P) (Readout on Laptop)?
Anyways, waiting for a word regarding the DB being ready to be shipped :). If it is, send me your paypal and shtuffs, and I'll transfer it asap :)

Calum
03-12-2009, 03:08 PM
You don't need a gauge, its just something you can set once. You can either integrate the data, or just watch the gauge/unit/etc. The innovate integrates with the laptop, but can also integrate to the ECU (thats a little more work). I like the Innovate LM-1 (it's an oldie but a goodie). The AEM is the best looking gauge.

I'm doing the RTs in batches. I'm still way behind on orders, let me get caught up before taking another order. Thanks!

M0J0
03-12-2009, 05:05 PM
Gah, so no shipping anytime soon :(. Since you said you could ship one in about 2 weeks :(.

Oh, well, back to the waiting game then...

M0J0
03-13-2009, 09:26 PM
Hi Sander,

Sorry, I'm really really behind on building the RT boards. I can ship a board in two weeks, is that fast enough?

I'm doing the RTs in batches. I'm still way behind on orders, let me get caught up before taking another order. Thanks!

Perhaps you have a new ETA for me? :(

M0J0
03-16-2009, 11:28 AM
Bump?

M0J0
04-01-2009, 12:52 PM
Please tell me you'll be taking orders again anytime soon :D

Calum
04-01-2009, 12:57 PM
I'm working on your board this evening. :)