EmUtility cant Verify my bin file [Archive] - SR20 Forum

: EmUtility cant Verify my bin file


yasin02
09-06-2009, 05:10 PM
Hey guys

I am trying to load a bin file which contains the KA24DE stock map with the addition of a N60 MAF sensor. The motor is NA with SOHC pistons. When attempting to load the bin it downloads with no problems but the following pops up when trying to verify the file:

Detecting Hardware...

Found: Romulator I v1.40.1
Writing 0x8000 bytes from file address 0x00 to emulator address 0x00 (Backfill)...
SUCCESS: Operation completed...
Verifying 0x8000 bytes from emulator RAM...
FAILURE: Verify failed. Emu read failed with AP_E_REQUEST_NOT_SUPPORTED

The ECU was working fine when it was turboed (it sat for about 6 months) when it came time to try and fire it up again the fuel pump was not cutting on. Calum Suggested that I try reloading the file he sent me. Could it be that there is in fact a problem with the ECU? If not I will put the stock one back in and wait till I can get a hold of Calum

Thanks for your help

Adam

Calum
09-06-2009, 05:34 PM
Your using the wrong version of EmUtility. See the addendum in the Quick Start thread-

http://www.sr20forum.com/calumsult/189834-realtime-ecu-quick-start-manual.html

yasin02
09-06-2009, 10:18 PM
Calum,

I reinstalled EMUtility and it loaded with no problem. However the fuel pump isnt cutting on. Could it be that you have a hardware issue? Thanks for the help

Adam

Calum
09-07-2009, 12:32 AM
Can you connect to the ECU with consult software when the key is on the on position?

yasin02
09-07-2009, 01:58 PM
I can double check that...if it is the case what can I do to fix the problem?

Are you availble by phone anytime today or later this week

Thanks for you patience

Adam

Calum
09-10-2009, 06:19 PM
I'm on the road until Sunday, but I bet we can fix this here.

If consult works then the ECU is firing up and the daughterboard is functioning just fine. I bet it is. Then you've either got one of three problems-

-Driver on the ecu is blown
-Fuel pump is bad
-Relay for fuel pump is bad

2&3 are easy to check.

I think I've posted which part on the ECU is the driver. I'll check it on Sunday, sorry I don't have an ECU with me.

yasin02
09-11-2009, 12:53 PM
Calum,

Thanks for the reply, the car runs fine with the stock ECU.So the pump, relay and wiring are fine. How do I go about replacing the driver on the ECU? Let me know if not we can chat sunday.

Thanks for your help

Adam

Calum
09-11-2009, 02:26 PM
Gotcha, then it's the driver on the ECU. Please verify consult works first so were 100% sure.

I'll post a picture of what exactly the driver is when I get back.

yasin02
09-13-2009, 12:58 PM
Calum


When would you have sometime today to talk about swapping out the driver?

Thanks

Adam

Calum
09-22-2009, 10:45 PM
http://www.sr20forum.com/calumsult/256182-ecu-common-pin-part-repair-list.html

Can you replace this part?

yasin02
09-24-2009, 10:46 PM
I breezed through it but from what you are saying is:

I eitheir order this transistor from the dealer or pull from another ECU

then by looking at the circuit board and the print out; i would be able to find the bad resistor and replace it?

Thanks for your help

Adam

Calum
09-24-2009, 11:25 PM
It won't be available from the dealer. Shoot me your mail address and I'll mail you one. It's really easy to replace- even with basic soldering skills it's not hard. Just heat it from the backside and pull the transistor out with needle nose pliars. Clean excess solder out of the holes with a little solder wick (see radio shack, very cheap). Insert new transistor (don't put it in backwards) and apply solder.

yasin02
09-29-2009, 11:13 AM
Adam Yasin
202 Roosevelt Ave Apt 3
Horseheads NY 14845

When do you think you can send it out?

Thanks for your patience

Adam

Calum
10-01-2009, 10:11 AM
Ok, padded envelope coming your way via snail mail. I included two.

yasin02
10-14-2009, 10:29 PM
Calum,

Thanks for sending them, they were recieved yesterday. However I thought my friends would be able to help me replace the componentes, and though that can sauder they werent comfortable helping me. Would it be possible for me to ship you my ECU? If so please let me know the costs associated in having you fix it for me. If not is there a place I can take it to locally that can do the job. Sorry for being a pain in your ass

Adam

Calum
10-20-2009, 11:12 AM
Yes! Free, just make sure to include your return shipping info.

yasin02
10-25-2009, 07:14 PM
got someone to get it for me and it works..thanks for your help

Calum
10-26-2009, 12:10 PM
Cool! It's a pretty easy repair.