Calum Basic ECU Fried? [Archive] - SR20 Forum

: Calum Basic ECU Fried?


Wojtek1977
06-24-2010, 02:16 PM
I have some problems with my Calum Basic on B13 VE after connecting new maf (and going back to old maf) and changing chips on the ECU.

- no power from ECU to the fuel pump relay
- no tach signal (doesn't show rpm)
- when shorted relay sockets, the pump works and car starts (harder start but idles faily well (850-875rpm)
- Consult connection shows the Rpm and no ECU codes come up (code 55: No malfunction)
- RPM is shown on Calumsult software, everything shows alright, temp is fairly consistent with gauges.
- the fans are not coming on (even after reaching 221F)

Let me know if you think my ecu is fried or is there another item that can cause all this?

Calum
06-24-2010, 06:22 PM
Open the top lid and look for burn traces on the lower right (as the blue connector faces you).

Wojtek1977
06-24-2010, 08:08 PM
Open the top lid and look for burn traces on the lower right (as the blue connector faces you).

Hi Calum,

There is no burn traces or any damages visible on the board, but I have noticed that I have installed the bottom cover the wrong way, possibly preventing the plug to go in all the way. Will recheck that.

Thanks.

Wojtek1977
06-25-2010, 09:53 AM
Opened up the board and took some pictures, Calum please let me know if you can see any issues with the board:

TOP
http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l56/wojtekj/NissanECU002.jpg

TOP RIGHT LOWER CORNER
http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l56/wojtekj/NissanECU004.jpg

BOTTOM
http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l56/wojtekj/NissanECU007.jpg

BOTTOM - strange blue discoloring on the board
http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l56/wojtekj/NissanECU009.jpg

I re-burned a stock bin, supplied by Calum and still same symptoms, no rpm gauge, not working fuel pump relay (had to manually jump the relay socket (pump turns on with key but doesn't stop after 2 sec as it used to), no VVL trigger (due to no rpm signal from ecu I assume) and the cooling fans never come on :O .
The worst thing is that the are not Codes on the ECU, "Code 55 no malfunction".

Is there a way to test ECU using Consult port?
Thank you for any help you can provide.

Calum
06-25-2010, 12:53 PM
No burned traces is good.

Stuff not being activated means that the chips that drive the outputs are faulty. Usually when one is damaged it only takes out one function, I've never seen a case where multiple like that are damaged. Replacing them is easy but you need a parts core to pull from. Guide is here-

http://www.sr20forum.com/calumsult/256182-ecu-common-pin-part-repair-list.html

Not throwing a code for this is normal. It means the ECU is trying to activate the output, but it has no method of telling that it's actually done anything or not. In other words theres no feedback to tell the ECU 'yes, the fan is actually spinning'.

Do you have a volt meter?

Wojtek1977
06-25-2010, 01:11 PM
No burned traces is good.

Stuff not being activated means that the chips that drive the outputs are faulty. Usually when one is damaged it only takes out one function, I've never seen a case where multiple like that are damaged. Replacing them is easy but you need a parts core to pull from. Guide is here-

http://www.sr20forum.com/calumsult/256182-ecu-common-pin-part-repair-list.html

Not throwing a code for this is normal. It means the ECU is trying to activate the output, but it has no method of telling that it's actually done anything or not. In other words theres no feedback to tell the ECU 'yes, the fan is actually spinning'.

Do you have a volt meter?

Would improperly burned chips cause this, the chips were inserted in wrong slots on the Moates burner which did not verify the chips successfully, I ran it anyways, and funny things started happening.

Yes I do, it is showing 13-14 volts on the gauge, 14V on the laptop through the Consult port.
Is it easier to re-solder daughterboard into another good ECU?

Thanks.

Calum
06-28-2010, 09:56 AM
It's really easy to move. I've got some tests for that ECU first, but basically with the ECU installed whats the voltage on each function pin that is dead?

Wojtek1977
06-28-2010, 01:45 PM
It's really easy to move. I've got some tests for that ECU first, but basically with the ECU installed whats the voltage on each function pin that is dead?

After getting a new ecu I plugged it in and the car ran the same, so I took a second look at the wiring and there was an issue with the white harness plug behing the cigarette lighter, once that was fix, everything was fine.
Apparently that plug affects all the symptoms that I had.

Thanks Calum and everyone else for the input.

Anyone need a B13 ecu?

Calum
06-28-2010, 04:05 PM
That would make sense, I was surprised that many functions died at the same time.