SR20 Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Banned
357 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 91 nissan sentra se-r. Boosted.

I had a guy put in my tranny and he put 10w30 motor oil in it. Just over 4.5qts.

In idaho it can get around 15 degrees in the winter. Just wondering what you guys think, whether its ok to put 10w30 in or what.

I am a noob at this so I just wanna make sure that my tranny is gonna be aight. Any help would be awsome, if that **** won't work I wanna get my tranny flushed tonight.

·
Registered
148 Posts
I would highly recommend Redline Shockproof trans fluid. I run it and love it. They offer it in several different weights. In my opinion, something as thin as 10W-30 is going to be very prone to sling off, and you need all the help you can get running a sr20 trans w/ boost. Here's a link that might be useful...

http://redlineoil.com/products_gearlubricants.asp?subcatID=20&prodID=61

·
Registered
1,103 Posts
motor oil in your tranny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! nuts

Who is the crack head that did that for you??? you should get gear oil at 80 w 90 as well as it takes 3.7liters get yourself an FSM as well

he should pay you to work on your car, or buy you a new tranny soon cause it ain't gonna last long

Also Redline MT90 go get it NOW its worth it

trini

·
Hostile Aberration
4,820 Posts
trinispeed said:
motor oil in your tranny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! nuts

Who is the crack head that did that for you??? you should get gear oil at 80 w 90 as well as it takes 3.7liters get yourself an FSM as well

he should pay you to work on your car, or buy you a new tranny soon cause it ain't gonna last long

Also Redline MT90 go get it NOW its worth it

trini
Yup. WTF is the that idiot with a wrench thinking?!? NEVER take your car back to him, he is a complete moron.

Redline...

http://www.sr20forum.com/showthread.php?t=76903&highlight=redline+tranny

Here's how to do it: