SR20 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
91 SE-R
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie to the board, and have been looking for a classic in Texas. I'm going to look at a 91 SE-R near Dallas tomorrow.

Seller is 2nd owner(verified it on car fax also), 146,000 miles, white w sunroof. He has had it 4 years and bought it w 72,000 miles on it. Owner says body and interior are near perfect, says no 5th gear pop-out, new tires, replaced speakers, recent tune-up and receipts for $1100 in various repairs over past 4 years (most in last 6 months), no leaks or drips, uses no oil. Says he has maint records and receipts to show me.

Says both he and previous owner used only mobile1 synthetic, and regular maint. He's asking $3,000. I'm driving 200 miles to check it out because it sounds to be in good condition, but the high mileage concerns me (I'll be selling a Miata w only 52,000 miles, need a back seat but want a fun car and like to modify them).

Says it's all stock w no mods. Any advice for me? Whats a good way to check 5th gear pop-out other than driving in 5th and getting on and off the gas? Departing tomorrow AM (11 hours from now).

Thanks for any hints

·
Turd Furgeson
3,935 Posts
o.k dude. a couple of things. What do you plan to do with the car?(daily driver, light mods, street killer,) How much do you know about cars? Imports?
1)clutch?
2)Tranny?
3)evidence of accidents?
4)Engine?
5)make sure bluebook (www.kbb.com) is ok.
hope I helped. I drove like 140 miles to get mine '96 SE-R.. and it was well worth it

·
Registered
723 Posts
awesome! i saw that on the classifieds today!!

i got the 93 listed at 5000$ last week. its a 5sp w/ 74k miles and in excellent condition. it came with a full alpine system and after some HARD negociations i got it down to $3,800.

for a car with that mileage i guess your best bet is to run a compression check. ive never experienced the 5th gear pop out...