SR20 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
...but they're sooo damn expensive. When I called the guy at Summit Racing he gave me a $120 price EACH, then proceeded to inform me that most people who buy these take them for autoX and all that. I won't be doing any of that any time soon so I decided not to shell out for these. Anybody have suggestion on cheaper alternatives? How about the GR-2? Or should I go for Tokicos? Konis? Anyone? TIA -D

·
Original Owner
1,045 Posts
Hey Lamchop. If you want AGX's cheap, purchase them from Performance Suspension Technologies (www.p-s-t.com). They're the cheapest I've found at only $389 a set shipped!

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
$389 is still a little steep for me. I was reading a review on the GR-2 and it says the shock is horrible on rough roads - but the guy had a Honduh Accord. Konis? Tokicos?

·
Original Owner
1,045 Posts
As a student, I know how it is trying to stretch your performance dollar. My advice would be to wait and just save up for the AGX's. I did and it was definately worth the wait.

·
employment whiplash, NC
3,646 Posts
I have the GR-2s on an Eclipse. They have been just fine for the last 4 years. I even autocrossed on them and won a state title. I have no idea how good/bad they are on an SE-R.

I've had the Tokiko non-adj on a Z-car. They were IMO very stiff with stock springs, but felt much better with some Eibachs.

AGX is the best/least expensive adjustable shock you can get for the SE-R.

------------------
Matt
92 SE-R from Heck

"What have you DONE to that thing..." - stranger at Rockingham dragway 5/18/01
"Where's the turbo?" - stranger at the 1st autocross of 2000 where my SE-R debuted
"That thing is a goddamn rocket ship. I'm not lifting for you on the straights anymore!" -Karl Shultz, Rockingham 4/27/01
"What in the hell have you done since I drove it last?" -David Stone, Rockingham 4/27/01

·
Premium Member
1,619 Posts