SR20 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Turd Furgeson
3,935 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone whats up?

Not really a technical problem. Teh stupid camsprocket bolts wont come loose. I used liquid wrench, an impact wrench, and the damn things wont budge.

I got Naji's install notes, FSM, and all the tools. Except a big torque wrench. Teh one i got only goes up to 75 ft/lb. Would a bigger one do the trick? FSM says to torwqe it to 101-116 ft/lb. I was gonna just blast it with the imp wr to put it back on. But why wont it come loose?

·
Registered
194 Posts
try using a 1/2 inch drive rachet with a 24mm?? socket. use a screw driver to stick inbetween one of the holes in the sprocket and turn till the screwdriver is securely in place so that the sprocket wont move. if that doesnt work, try more leverage by utilizing a longer pipe that will slip over the rachet. i just did this a couple hours ago...

·
Turd Furgeson
3,935 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I started painting the valve cover. Im in between coats now. Ill try the screw driver thing.
The funny part is in the FSm they guy is pictured like "lalala no prob" I ****ing blasted it with the impwr. and no dice.

·
Registered
94 Posts
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Bennitto Mallito:
I started painting the valve cover. Im in between coats now. Ill try the screw driver thing.
The funny part is in the FSm they guy is pictured like "lalala no prob" I ****ing blasted it with the impwr. and no dice.
</font>
Heh, the FSM guy has been eating his Wheaties, and you haven't...

The screwdriver trick sounds nice, but remember that the block is made of aluminum, so I would try to avoid that. I would also avoid the impact wrench; I dunno why, something just doesn't seem right about that...