SR20 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got them installed and I am getting very rough cold starts. My car will not even start unless I give it gas. It will die at stops and when I take it out of gear the rpm drop to 500. sometimes it dies. Is this normal? I have the JWT s3 cams and the ecu.
I thought the ecu would help this out.
Do I need to adjust the idle. It idles at 1000 and sinks some. Any help would be appreciated.
I am new to the world of cams so please enlighten me

·
Registered
596 Posts
Hey Mike, I think they just need to be broken in. You didn't go to Kennedale or Ennis tonight, did you? Don't the cams need 1000 mile to be broken in?

·
JordanWhiteMusic.com
4,699 Posts
No, not even close to 1000 miles. 50-75 miles is plenty of break-in.

------------------
Jordan White (Stormy)
'98 Sentra SE(R)
Hotshot G3 Header, Hotshot CAI, JWT s4 Cams, KYB AGXs, Eibach Sportlines, Courtesy F&R STB's, ES Mounts, MOMO Shifter, Nis-Knacks chrome projector headlights and clear corners, 205/50/15 Pirelli P700Z's on SE-R wheels, 205/40/17 Kuhmos on 17" Borbet Type S's for the summer

15.454 @ 88mph at Englishtown, NJ - with the $hitty stock cams, 14's this season

·
Registered
705 Posts
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Mike sr20de:
I just got them installed and I am getting very rough cold starts. My car will not even start unless I give it gas.
</font>
Hmm....unless someone can help me out here, the only thing i can think of is this....If your car is having a tough time starting, it has nothing to do with the ECU, and only has to do with your install. You possibly skipped a few teeth on the timing chain. What method did you use to secure it? Sounds like your timing is very retarded, unlees its just a coincidence it happened at the same time as the install??

------------------
Ryan Walsh...Hmmm, what should I buy with my $708 bucks from income tax returns?!

·
former pulsar car whore
1,397 Posts