SR20 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

I am finally looking for a new "project" car, and am considering a 93-94 Classic. I am a college student, and I want something reliable, but able to transform into a weekend racer pretty easily. Nothing hardcore, maybe just some driver education events and such. Does anyone have any experience doing this? Does the classic make a good choice? It is going to be strange after years of driving Merkur Xr4ti's with rear whell drive and a big turbo, but I think I am due for a change. Any input would be appreciated. Also, if anyone has a nice 93-94 Classice with low milage in good mechanical shape, feel free to let me know:).

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Wow, that is quite a story, and Matt seems like he was a great person......That definately is a testament to road racing-- I always love being the underdog :)

·
pwnd
3,455 Posts
I think most of the classic owners are part time road racers so IMHO its a good choice. I love my 93 classic, tho its an automatic. The auto isnt bad but nto as fun as a 5 speed. Going to do some work to the car this summer hopefully. Prokits, agx, bushings, swaybar, intake, stb, headers. Now if I will just get a job.

·
www.motorists.org
3,047 Posts
Bowlcut- ever consider a higher stall torque convertor? Dunno if anyone makes them for our cars, but Yank Converters does a lot of custom ones so you may want to bother me to get their phone number off the sticker on the side of my computer at home (at work for the rest of the day/night today)

·
pwnd
3,455 Posts
Im not that serious in raceing my car. Just going to make it a bit funner. If the tranny is the same as the G20 there is other conserns I have. From what I have read the problem is the clutchs falling apart and cloging the tranny.