SR20 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Lightning fast egg :)
307 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Cylinder head set-up I have finished my cylinder head and since I changed the valve guides and reground the seats, I need to have the valve lash clearance measured/confirmed.

Is this something I can do myself with feeler gauges?

The machine shop that did the work on the head for me, said they set it up as best as they can, but are not 100% sure it it is correct. At least they're honest.

What should I do? Do I get out the dialer indicator and check to make sure that the rocker arms are not on an angle. If they are then get the feeler gauges under the shim till rocker arms are perfectly parallel?

Any help is appreciated! :confused:

TIA

·
Registered
55 Posts
i am no mechanic but i am rebuilding an sr in auto class. after my valve job the teach told me to take off about 70% of the total taken from seat and face off the valve tip the hydro lash adjusters should take care of the rest. someone correct me if i'm wrong.

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Once its all setup , you can check it with a feeler guage or with a dial indicator , It should be zero +/- .0010in. clearance !!!

·
307 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The machine shop said they took about 4 thou off the valve seat and couple of thou off the valve stem end, to compensate. They think they've got it close, but do not know how to measure/verify properly.

Here is my theory:

If the valve stem was too long (shim too thick) then the valve would not seal properly and would leak. Right?

It the valve stem was too short (shim too thin) then there would be too much clearance and the rocker arm would make noise. Right?

Again any help/thoughts are appreciated.

Thanks for your input sr20dereamin!

PS: Should I take it too the local Nissan dealer to have it done?

·
307 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I assume the checking should be done with the cam in place right?

SHAWNATGERBROCK said: