SR20 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been trying to track down the cause of excessive motor and transmission movement. What do I mean by excessive? In first gear, if I make any throttle adjustment other than the most MINOR one, the drive train *noticeably* moves. The lurch is borderline scary-sever. Imagine in your car stabbing the throttle to about 50% and then completely off. It's really bad.

I've had this problem since I purchased the car 8 months ago. Initially I thought it was worn motor mounts, but I've replaced them all and the dogbone and the problem persists. I'm an accomplished driver, so I'm pretty sure I'm not a factor. Thanks for any help you can provide.

I'm an accomplished driver, so I know I'm not a factor. Thanks for any help you can provide.

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
The car is a 1997 200SX SE-R with 84,000 miles. It's in good - very good mechanical shape. I knew the previous driver and he's easier on cars than I.

·
Living up Boost
893 Posts
Wow, this is interesting to know. In case it happens to anyone else. I don't know, but you sound pretty sure that the motor mounts are intact and tight (all the bracket bolts, brackets, etc..) Only other thing I can think of is your suspension. Anyone else?

-saaby

------------------
Red 99 SE with: CAI, Stillen Front STB, Redline MT90, ES Motor Mounts (4-set)

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I inspected all the motor mounts myself, so I'm pretty sure they're not the cause.

I had thought of suspension and also tires as the culprit. The tires on there now are super crap and have very mushy sidewalls. (I've been using a different car on a daily basis up until now, so none of these problems really bugged me.)

Perhaps is the combination of crap tires and worn suspension?

·
Registered
254 Posts
"Initially I thought it was worn motor mounts, but I've replaced them all and the dogbone and the problem persists."