SR20 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Z28=mullett
493 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
how hard of a job is this? is it unreasonable to think that i could do it myself? how thorough is the FSM at explaining the process?i am no mechanic, but i put the intake header and exhaust on my car without a problem, and my friends dad is good with cars. i have my mom's car to drive for a week, and im sure i could get it knocked out in that time, has anyone done one that is not an excellent mechanic? i am a poor high school student, so i would like to save all the money i can, but should i just go ahead and cough up the $200ish to have a professional do it?

·
too many toys
386 Posts
Well, I just completed my first clutch job (on any car) about a month ago. Its certainly not an easy job, but with the right tools and plenty of patience, you could certainly do it yourself (it really helps to have a second hand too). I did mine in one of those crappy tiny apartment garages - just barely enough room. It took me the entire weekend, but again, it was my first time and I wasn't in a hurry (which helps).

I would suggest reading through all the online info about changing a clutch first, and see how you feel afterwards. :) I know there are at least two write ups with pictures. I think the hardest part for me was figuring out how to support the engine when the transmission is off the car (there is only really one motor mount attached to the engine at that point). I guess some people support the engine from above (beats me how) and the factory service manual says you have to unbolt some of the exhaust stuff.

If you do go ahead and do it, make sure you do it right by getting the flywheel resurfaced, and replace everything (disk, pressure plate, throwout bearing, seals,...).

Aaron

·
Z28=mullett
493 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·