SR20 Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the b13 platform. Do these cars have a large amount of brake bias? It seems like my back brakes don't do anything while my fronts lock up quickly. This is especially noticeable in the snow I've been driving in.

·
Registered
1,273 Posts
I believe that there is some bias to the front, which helps promote directional stability rather than swapping ends during threshold breaking. However, I have not found the bias to be real noticeable or overwhelming. On dry pavement, sometimes a rear wheel will sometimes lock up first depending on the conditions and how the brakes are applied.

If you think you have too much front bias, I would confirm that you have healthy brakes all around. Check for glazed pads and rotors, check for pad type -- should be consistent front and rear, check for frozen caliper pins, and properly bleed the hydraulic lines.

If, after all this you still want more bias toward the rear, the easiest thing to do would be to switch to a higher coefficient of friction pad in the rear. But be careful, you don't want rear lockup at threshold braking.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Assuming no master cylinder issues, if the rears seem like they are not working, then it's likely they are not working!

Actually, that's not unusual on street driven B13's and B14's! For whatever reasons stuck rear pads and/or caliper pins are pretty common problems with these models in all but bone dry climates.

In any other conditions you almost need to annually check that the pads are free and the calipers are floating.

The rears are simple enough to check. Once you remove the e-brake bracket bolt and unhook the cable you can easily remove the caliper and check the piston and slider pins.

If everything comes apart, use brake cleaner on the pins to clean old lube out. I use Napa Silglide on the pins. Make sure the pleated boots are not damaged. If torn, a dab a RTV silicone can buy some time.