SR20 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Once again, I'm a newbie here so sorry if these are stupid questions.

Gettin' a '91 SE-R with 170k on the clock. Engine / body's good and all, car needs some wheel bearings though. I was quoted 540 for just the labor at a Nissan near where I live? Seems very high to me.

How much time does it really take? I found the actual wheel bearings for about 45 each though, think that's fair? Don't think I can do 'em myself since I don't have a press. But pls. let me know what kind of time / tools are required. Also, is this a common problem (car sounds like I'm running on rumble strips, and it's NOT the axles, so I'm pretty sure it's the WBs).

Would it be better / cheaper to get the whole hub / bearing assembly from a junked car nad replace those? I think I can get some from another '91, also made in the US (VIN starts with "1"). Let me know. Thanx.

SeRKid

·
Premium Member
11,741 Posts
best thing you can do is buy the bearings from a local auto parts store, and just go around to different mechanics, and try to get the cheapest quote, thats what i did, i think they need to be pressed in.

good luck

------------------
Serban Gavrilescu
91 Black Metallic SE-R
------------------
146.5hp & 131.6lb-ft torque

Serban's SE-R Page

·
Banned
2,886 Posts
and just go around to different mechanics,

Thats what I did, I got my drivers side done for $200. I think thats a good price....

·
Registered
1,166 Posts
$200? i stressing over doing it myself for 200 and thats both sides, wheel bearings and new hub...but doing it yourself is easy...if you know how to change your axles then it should be no prob about 30min for the right side cause you can cheat but the left side you have to pop out the ball joint first while the right side the axle can come out first.

·
Registered
379 Posts