SR20 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
The Groove Master
4,241 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all...

I am researching headers, hoping that I will get a job soon (I am a teacher by trade and the administration at the school I worked for last year were a bunch of ****ing idiots and that's not even half of it so I left...rant off)and be able to pay for them. I need to know:

What is the real deal with Pacesetter? I have read all there is to read on Ser.net and I would love to have Hotshot headers but I cannot argue with the price of the Pacesetter unit. Lots of people say that Pacesetter is crap but others have been happy with their stuff, and they are obviously still in business.

What I want to know is this: what is YOUR PERSONAL experience with the Pacesetter header (or cat-back; I need that someday too)? Was the power gain happy, and where in the RPM band was it? Did you feel like you lost power anywhere? Most importantly, what was the durability like? Did it rust? Did it have a sufficient setup to prevent damage from engine vibration (flexpipe or other)? Any other concerns?

Also, does anybody know about Kombat exhaust stuff? I keep running across it on eBay.

TIN

------------------
SR20DE - Tiny but Mighty
The worst thing in the world is a stupid person with ambition.

·
_______
2,170 Posts
Later Pacesetters are a direct copy of the first generation Hotshots. Like an *exact* copy, like they stole the jigs or something.

I drove a friend's NX2000 with an older Pacesetter (in '96), and the coating was nasty, it all burned off within a week of ownership. There was also a whistle like a boiling teakettle under acceleration.

However, it made the car significantly faster. My car was stock them (it was a loooong time ago...) and he beat me by several carlengths, as soon as he hit second gear.

So, in short:

cheap, good performance gains

bad quality control

·
Whisky Tango Foxtrot
863 Posts