SR20 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys...this could be a tough one...

What is the thread info on a 2001 SR20DE engine oil cap...

Why am I asking?!!...well...by trade I am a student but also a part time machine shop foreman so I have unlimited access to mills, lathes, grinders and etc...I am making myself...(or maybe if I can get a profit...a bunch) of billet Aluminum Oil caps (SOLID 6061-T6)...thus I need to know the thread info on the cap...

Some importants factors...if you can provide it would be nice...

1. Is it metric (I highly suspect)
2. Is it a 60 deg thread (doesn't matter if its round bottom...the key thing is is it 60 deg)
3. I measured the Major diameter of the thread on the cap and its 1.3000"...translates to about 33mm...its got a 3.5 pitch which does exist on a UNF 33-3.5 thread...but I need to be ABSOLUTELY sure that it is metric but not SAE so I can figure out my infeed accordingly...

Mercy Buckets guys/gals...I'll let cha know how it turns out if and when I am successful...

)

The first guy in Toronto to have a 2K1 QM1 coloured Sentra

·
pwnd
3,455 Posts
LOL here comes the smart ass answer. If you have access to the machine shop, when you pull in in the morning take off your oil cap. Walk inside,and have it measured
. Seriously. I doubt anyone will be able to give you that specfic of an answer for what you need. And doubt even Nissan tech's at a dealer will know.

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I actually cut a thread on a rod based on the dimension that I had taken from an oil cap that was MOLDED...when parts are molded...they lose their dimensional consistency...a part that is round and moulded can measure 1 inch in diameter in the 3/9 o clock section and measure as much as 0.9 between 6/12...0.1 inch in plastic is not a lot...but in machining...especially threads...0.1 of an inch is like heaven and hell...