SR20 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a red '95 200sx (B14) that has a turbo that was installed at Haas Pro Turbo - now out of business :(. It has a T28 and intercooler, with a JWT computer that is designed to use the 300ZX MAF, and also an E-manage.

I bought the car from a guy in Hartford last November. I am not a mechanic, but I am an engineer at a company you would all have heard of. But I figured it would be better to rely on someone else's technical expertise before making this purchase. I took it to XX Tuning in Hartford for them to check it over. I had them install a cat and hook up the O2 sensor to it. They gave it a "clean bill of health", but it immediately failed inspection when I brought it back to Massachusetts.

I had noticed a strong fuel smell, and the people who failed it said that an injector was leaking (wrong.) There was also this hot start issue that made me walk home once, and stranded me at the airport another time. When warm, it seemed that I could stop once and re-start, but not twice.

I only drove the car for one week, then I took it to a dyno equipped tuning shop here in MA, fairly close to my house. They found a bunch of things wrong with the car, including no connection to the front O2 sensor, a leaking fuel rail, (I bought a good used one from a guy on the forum) among other things.

Now they seem to have things straightened out, but this hot start issue has them stymied. One time it won't start because it is too lean. Pull the plugs, they are dry. Put the plugs back in, this time it will flood, they pull the plugs and they are wet.

It is this inconsistency that has them puzzled. The owner of the shop suggested maybe someone on here might have a stock computer I could borrow to try it, to see if that fixes it.