SR20 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi people, i'm a newbie but have been reading these forums for a few weeks, it's a useful resource considering my mechanical ignorance and the scarcity of these great cars.

Anyway i'm planning on taking my 1992 nx on her first country trip and due to hot weather would like the targas off... I was wondering if this is recommended? I'm concerned the hatch would act like a giant sail and give me crap mileage, or worst case would be rear glass blowing out. Is there a combination I can use to maxamise highway aerodynamicy (eg targas down/windows up, vice versa, or both down?)... Sorry if this is answered in the service manual but I didn't receive one with my car.

·
Registered
1,089 Posts
odd enough, yet good question, I myself have not noticed a big difference in mileage. I can say that air does get trapped in the car, I know this from hitting rain without the t's and seeing the drops on the back window. I have done 135(stupidly) with the tops off and windows up with no problems. Its your call on what you want to do, but I don't see the back glass blowing out.

·
Only Car in Cali W/ Rust!
437 Posts
Nissan wouldn't make a T-tops on a car if the back hatch would blow out. They make the car with certain degrees of freedom so something like that wouldnt happen. The only way i can see something like this happening is if you're driving 180 mph into a 200 mph headwind. The "sail" doesnt pick up that much air to force it out.

·
no..its not my daddys car
1,447 Posts
Yeah Ive done 120 no problem, it seems a lot less stable, but thats about it....

Windows down, tops off...

-Josh

·
Registered
617 Posts
Don't think you'll have any problem about damage to the car, but at highway cruising speed the wind noise is pretty damn loud with the t-tops off, if you're going on a road trip the noise might start to bug you.

Welcome to the boards tourist - which state in Aus. are you from?

·
getting close