SR20 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello friends-
I have a 1993 NX2000 with a custom-made mandrel-bent piping and an AROSPEED BOMB muffler. (The one that comes with the removable baffle). My question to you all is: if my car is barely modded at all, will such an open exhaust cause a loss of power? I put the baffle in the exhaust and notice an increase in power, especially low-end. Experiences???
Thank you...
Steve, NX2K w/cat-back, K&N filter, 17deg. advanced timing, and cosmetic mods.

G

·
i could answer this, but i don't know enough.

the best thing that i can say is that more backpressure helps you out in the low end, but fux you up in the high end...

i'm sure with that kinda response somebody who actually knows something will give you a better description.

------------------
1993 NX2000
with stuff.

·
wants to go play
2,230 Posts
Ok it has to do with flow rates and scavenging. I'm not an expert on this by any means. But like anything on a car it's all about comprimse. On my racer I run a 2 1/4 exhaust to keep some torque and a free flow muffler. With the silencer in place you're creating the backpressure but it will be a restriction at higher revs. This is probably a good street setup.

Blair

G

·
Yeah Ive got a 93NX and I just bought the same kind of muffler. It does give you better low end torque when you have the baffle instlled, and it quiets it down quite a bit too.Has a real deep tone when idling without the baffle and a little bit boomy around town. I kept my b pipe at stock diameter. What size b pipe did you go with joker? Another good thng about the baffle is that my wife can drive the car without bitching!

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I had a custom-made 2.25" pipe going from the catalytic converter to the muffler. (is that the "b-pipe"?).

Anyway, I noticed this weekend when trying to race someone on the highway that top-end power is AWFUL!!!