SR20 Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
FWD PWNAGE IS HERE!
2,570 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I was reading around to see what tranny fluid to use and I am getting mixed opinions. I have been using mt90 for the last 6 months and it seems to work just fine but I thought I would try something else while my car is being reworked right now. I've read posts from people using all 3 variations of the shockproof and not sure which to get. I did come across this from a friend saying that the lighter shockproofs shouldnt be used on a tranny with syncros... http://www.redlineoil.com/products_gearlubricants.asp?pvID=87&prodID=61&subcatID=20

What do you think will work best with boost?

·
Registered
722 Posts
I've been using the lightweight for 3 years now and no problem since. I'm thinking of using the heavyweight next time.

·
fabricator
841 Posts
Heavyweight is the best thing for fragile trannies. It is thicker than latex house paint (250 wt!) and cushions the gears. It doesn't shift any worse than regular stuff.

andris

·
Registered
999 Posts
i have been using mt-90 for awhile now and i have no complaints btw very smooth shifting with it...

·
Registered
774 Posts
How about shockproof? I'm about to replace my t/o bearing and am looking at which redline I should use on my car. It's a 97 200sx se-r w/ GTi-R swap and a bunch of other goodies. Stock t-28.... for now. Welded case and cryotreated gears.

David

·
www.FAIRTAX.org
8,920 Posts
I have been using MT90 for the past 5 years in both cars with great results. I'm refilling the NX with shockproof heavy when the swap is complete. I figured since everyone always says how much they like it on track driven cars I'll give it a try.

·
SR powered S13 coupe
6,728 Posts
I ran MT-90 in my last car with no complaints. Currently running lightweight, but will probably switch over to heavyweight next spring. The reason for the switch is because the car is now turboed... and I like my tranny :)

·
Tired!
10,149 Posts