SR20 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts
827 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So im seriously considering to turbo my VE and im new to the turbo area and searching is really confusing. Ill just make my q's very simple and straight forward.
I can get a BB DET for $1k. I want to do a simple complete DET bottom end + VE head with Sr16ve cams.

1) How are the sr16 cams on the turbo? will the stock VE cams drive better?

2) what will my compression be with DET bottom end + VE head? 9.5:1?

3) how much boost can i run with stock DET bottom + VE head setup?

4) what will my expected HP outcome be?

5) what headgasket?

6) when can i expect boost to start building?

7) anything else i need to do besides drill block for VVL oil feed? Any additional parts for this setup?

Im just planning to turbo this VE and make it as SIMPLE as possible. Im planning to use the stock DET exhaust mani but bore it out for the VE. Find a piping kit, and an intercooler. My goal is to make this SIMPLE and RELIABLE. Nothing really fancy.I still have not decided if i want a recirc setup or a bov. Sorry bout the repeated q's. But after searching for the past hr, i just got more confused. Help a brotha out! :)

·
'71 240z, a REAL classic
225 Posts
if you recirc or bov will depend on if you run a MAF or MAP sensor.

827 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
The SR16 cams may have valve to piston contact with a DET bottom end.

Just get a GTiR mani and turbo, should make 300whp no problem at 12-15psi.
hey charles, thanxs for the quick reply. Its not that i dun wanna get a gtir mani + turbo, but i wanna keep my cost down low. Im not looking for high HP really, just more than the VE and a little turbo to play around with :) Maybe the Gtir will come down the road ;)

My projected project is: VE head with stock sr20ve cams, complete DET bottom end, 2.5'' catback. what do you project my hp will be at stock boost 7psi and high boost, 12 psi?

·
vvl se-r
341 Posts