SR20 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am the proud owner of 2 '71 Datusn 510's. After putting up with a rather PITA time with the L18 I have in my runner now, I have decided on an engine swap. A local posted this add,
"Motor & Trans. -- SR20DE RWD engine and transmision. This is a non-turbo 150 HP rear drive engine with 5-speed transmission, complete with wiring harness and fuel injection system. $800.00 Will not ship."

Sence I am new to the whole sr thing, I would like a couple questions answered. First of all let me explane the reasons why I am leaning to the sr20de, not the DET. First of all, I have no constraints from SMOG laws in my home state of Cal, or my current residence of Wa, gotta love smog exempt. Sence the DE was placed in the SE-R's (both Sentra, and 200sx) NX2000, G20, Sentra SE... I figured that parts were a little easier to come by then ones for the DET.
So I was wondering, do parts for the FWD DE's bolt into, and mount up to the RWD platform? What I mean is intake mani's, ECU's, Cams, flywheels, clutches, etc. If so, is the $800 price tag for the trans, motor, etc. worth it? I know the engine is a bullet proof one, aswell as a true performer. (battling those pesky SE-R's in SSB!)

Any help is welcome, comments, suguestions, etc. Just don't tell me to sell the Neon

·
_______
3,640 Posts
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Rich:

do parts for the FWD DE's bolt into, and mount up to the RWD platform? What I mean is intake mani's,ECU's, Cams, flywheels, clutches, etc. If so, is the $800 price tag for the trans, motor, etc. worth it? I know the engine is a bullet proof one, aswell as a true performer. (battling those pesky SE-R's in SSB!)
</font>
Welcome Rich.

I can answer a few Q's. The FWD intake manifold will NOT bolt up to the RWD DE. I think you can get away with using a FWD DE wiring harness and ECU but you might have to lengthen a few wires to get it to work.