SR20 Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I love my 92' se-r so much that I'm willing to put money in her. My problem is I'm a noob and this mechanic wants to charge me 285 US dollars for a pipe he calls a flex pipe, down pipe because it is in bad shape, and this price doesn't include the header either. What exactly is that pipe that comes off the header called? He said I have an aftermarket header on it already and that the muffler is in good shape. Why does he want me to pay 285 for it? Heck for that price I may as well get performance something.

I feel he's taking me to the bank and really need some help. Thank you for any responses and a big hello to everyone. :)

·
the original 4-door SR20
590 Posts
Tell you mechanic he is smoking crack. You can get a brand new Pacesetter or OBX header (which comes with the flex pipe) for under that price. Just do a search and you should be fine.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
jamse-r said:
Tell you mechanic he is smoking crack. You can get a brand new Pacesetter or OBX header (which comes with the flex pipe) for under that price. Just do a search and you should be fine.
How are these ones? That don't look like a flex pipe. I mean it don't look like it flexes. If this is cool I'm doing it I think. :cool: http://www.streetbeatcustoms.com/pas701284.html

·
Wants Primera Race Motor
2,390 Posts
you dont always need a flex pipe.. i dont have one and i have no leaks.
after the 2nd flex pipe went bad, i just had the shop put a pipe in.

·
Baby Blue VVL
3,202 Posts
I gained 9whp with a pacesetter header that had a leak from the primary to the secondary. I bought mine for $150 shipped, I stripped the cheap paint that was on it and I coated it with High temp (cheap) Grill paint. It doesn't have a flex pipe but it will still bolt up nicely.

O

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·