SR20 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
now on the West side!
3,661 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a '91 SE-R with 123K miles. I've been using regular or mid-grade gas for the past 4 months that i've owned it and i get around 25-27 MPG. I get this mileage whether or not i'm on the highway, puttin' around town, or racing from lights.

One day I decided to be nice to her and put in some 93 octane fuel. To my surprise, I instantly got 31-33MPG. Then, i went back to regular, and so did my gas mileage. Funny thing, i've never seen octane have such a drastic effect on gas mileage.

So, i'm running super all the time...even though its more expensive than regular, i can save about 25 cent per fillup with the added mileage.

anyone know what might be causing this?

thanks in advance.

-Chris-

·
Get Some!!
596 Posts
I ONLY run 93 octane and my JWT ECU even makes the motor burn rich. I average 370 miles per tank, in or out of town.

·
0 Posts
Maybe I'll try the switch.
Any Mobil gasoline fans out there.
I have the oil and transmission fluid , why not the gas too.!!

·
Get Some!!
596 Posts
hey, check it out: tires make a huge difference, too.

My last set of tires were Toyo Proxes and I loved them! They stuck like glue. However, I didn't know exactly what pressure to run and there were times I ran them too low or too high. Basically, I only got around 290 miles per tank on those tires.

My new tires are Bridgestone RE910s. I don't like them as much because they don't handle near as "stickily" as the Proxes. BUT, I'm getting anywhere from 70 - 100 miles more per tank!! Weird, huh? Also, I haven't adjusted the pressure and they're very new.

·
0 Posts
--YOU ARE NOW ENTERING.....THE TWILIGHT ZONE.
( twilight zone music plays...............)

I still say these cars are possesed.
Everybody has different problems and all the SR20DEs act differently.

·
Registered
64 Posts