SR20 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Basically, at idle and momentarily at low accelerating RPMs the motor would make a sound like the chain was hitting the guide so that's why I pulled the valve cover. It wasn't a continuous noise, just on idle and these various instances. When the car was started cold it had no noise. It was only when the car warmed up.

Upon inspection, the top guide was perfectly mounted on there. It was not loose at all. I took the top guide off and it had some minor abrasions in the top from the chain.
The timing chain has a little bit of slack in it (granted the tensioner is operated on oil pressure). I took a screwdriver and I poked around on the chain down on the bottom tensioner and it was pretty tight. From the pics, do you think the chain should look like that?

I did not take off the front cover to physically inspect the tensioner because I am a noob and I don't have the tools to take belts off. Hopefully, this will get rid of the momentary rattle.

Do you think a tensioner would cause the slack to go away between the two gears. Basically when I take a wrench and turn the intake cam gear counterclockwise the slack goes away. Is there a possiblility the chain is stretched?

Currently my plan is just to put it back together and see if the rattle persists. Next, would probably be the tensioner (if that helps). The final step would probably just be to replace the whole deal (chain, tensioner, guides).

SR20DET redtop, 60k miles on the clock.

·
Lurker
200 Posts
I'm also curious about this. I've got mine out and on an engine stand and it looks identical. Same thing for me...slack only happens at some points on the rotation while cranking it by hand.

Anyone know if this is normal?

·
Banned
3,740 Posts