·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm relatively new to turbos and engine tuning. The following
questions are about the SR20DE with turbo in a 200SX (US) 95-98:

1) Does the engine overheat on long (200mi+) trips? Would adjusting the
turbo to lower psi's on long trips decrease risk of overheating the engine if
overheating is an issue?
2) What are the main necessities to get the turbo SR20DE rolling in a
200SX SE (like SR20DE engine, turbo, etc...)?
3) Which is better - rebuilding an SR20DE and strapping on a turbo or rebuilding an SR20DET FWD and replacing that turbo?
4) And on average, how long does it take to finish all the needed components for an SR20DE(T) installation?

Thanks for your help!

Dave

·
www.motorists.org
3,047 Posts
(cracking knuckles)

1. Engine does not overheat. With a turbo under light acceleration and cruising, it makes no more power than stock really. You are only "pushing the engine over stock" when you are in boost, that is, having the intake manifold pressure higher than ambient/atmospheric pressure. So cruising along or putzing around town should be no different. You *might* have to worry about overheating if you are pushing the engine a lot over a short period of time over stock, yes. I have yet to experience above 60 degree temps since my turbo install so haven't had any problems at all yet. NX2000's are supposed to be particularly susceptible to overheating due to the front end design not allowing for a lot of airflow just FYI.

2. If you have a GA16DE and would have to swap the engine anyways, everyone will agree to just go for the DET. Buy one for a good price with little to no sludge under the valvecover, replace the crankshaft bearings (necessary precaution on imported DETs since many are supposedly junked engines), get a JWT ECU for it, an American DE MAF, and I think that's it. Well, for you, transmission and axles too.