SR20 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
470 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys and Gals,

Tomorrow is the day I start my engine swap and turbo installation, it looks like I'm in this alone, so I'm giving myself 7 days to do this. I'm alittle nervous as I have never done a swap of any sort before so it should be interesting. Don't mind me if I come on here to blow off some steam because I'm sure I will. I have all the air tools I need and a hoist so I think it should be ok(knock on wood). I'll keep everyone up to date on how it is going. Wish me luck!

-T

edit: I do have a FSM so that should help!

·
<>< Jesus is the Answer
5,518 Posts
nice! good luck! if you need any help on the swap let me know. ive done a de to de before so i might be able to help out a little.

·
Registered
527 Posts
Good luck man. I remember being in your shoes a couple of summers ago. I didn't have air tools though. Would have been nice. Hope the swap will be a good experience for you like it was for me.

·
pimpin since 03!
1,348 Posts
im on day two with the engine still in the car! lol i have learned my lesson! remove the trany with the motor... me like a dumbbb ass i tried to remove the engine while keeping the tranny in the car! big mistake its almost impossible.. some people say its easy but i think there lying lol.

·
Keeping It Real
637 Posts
Good luck man! I can't wait till I get my ride back. Definitely post pics and installation stuff when you can. :)

·
Registered
470 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 · (Edited)
I'm about an hour or so from having my engine out, but i'm also pressing in mounts and replacing lot of switches and stuff, I also spent half a day trying to to get the fill/drain plug off the tranny..what a PITA..the mounts are going great, all I gotta say is air hammer eliminates the need to burn out the rubber, 5 minutes everything is out. saturday I have hoist and hopefully I'll be up on sunday.